You can lock an unlock your layouts by toggling the 'locker' icon on the left-bottom of the menu screen.
When layouts are locked, you cannot add, move, resize and remove any shortcuts and widgets no more.
Protect your awesome layouts from your children and pets! :P
p.s. The counters such as 'missed calls' and 'unread SMS' will be invisible when it is zero and layouts are locked. You can show them always by checking 'Show text always' in Preferences > Cover page.